Web Analytics

Stats Hockey


Stanley Cup Winners

  • Winner of the NHL Playoffs
  • Multiple Times: Montreal Canadiens (24)
Year WinnersGamesRunner Up
2019 St. Louis Blues43Boston Bruins
2018 Washington Capitals41Vegas Golden Knights
2017 Pittsburgh Penguins42Nashville Predators
2016 Pittsburgh Penguins42San Jose Sharks
2015 Chicago Blackhawks42Tampa Bay Lightning
2014 Los Angeles Kings41New York Rangers
2013 Chicago Blackhawks42Boston Bruins
2012 Los Angeles Kings42New Jersey Devils
2011 Boston Bruins43Vancouver Canucks
2010 Chicago Blackhawks42Philadelphia Flyers
2009 Pittsburgh Penguins43Detroit Red Wings
2008 Detroit Red Wings42Pittsburgh Penguins
2007 Anaheim Ducks41Ottawa Senators
2006 Carolina Hurricanes43Edmonton Oilers
2005 Cancelled --Due to Lockout
2004 Tampa Bay Lightning43Calgary Flames
2003 New Jersey Devils43Anaheim Mighty Ducks
2002 Detroit Red Wings41Carolina Hurricanes
2001 Colorado Avalanche43New Jersey Devils
2000 New Jersey Devils42Dallas Stars
1999 Dallas Stars42Buffalo Sabres
1998 Detroit Red Wings40Washington Capitals
1997 Detroit Red Wings40Philadelphia Flyers
1996 Colorado Avalanche40Florida Panthers
1995 New Jersey Devils40Detroit Red Wings
1994 New York Rangers43Vancouver Canucks
1993 Montreal Canadiens41Los Angeles Kings 
1992 Pittsburgh Penguins40Chicago Blackhawks
1991 Pittsburgh Penguins42Minnesota North Stars
1990 Edmonton Oilers41Boston Bruins 
1989 Calgary Flames 42Montreal Canadiens
1988 Edmonton Oilers40Boston Bruins 
1987 Edmonton Oilers43Philadelphia Flyers
1986 Montreal Canadiens 41Calgary Flames 
1985 Edmonton Oilers41Philadelphia Flyers 
1984 Edmonton Oilers41New York Islanders 
1983 New York Islanders40Edmonton Oilers
1982 New York Islanders 40Vancouver Canucks 
1981 New York Islanders41Minnesota North Stars
1980 New York Islanders 42Philadelphia Flyers
1979 Montreal Canadiens41New York Rangers 
1978 Montreal Canadiens 42Boston Bruins 
1977 Montreal Canadiens40Boston Bruins 
1976 Montreal Canadiens40Philadelphia Flyers
1975 Philadelphia Flyers42Buffalo Sabres 
1974 Philadelphia Flyers 42Boston Bruins 
1973 Montreal Canadiens42Chicago Blackhawks
1972 Boston Bruins 42New York Rangers
1971 Montreal Canadiens43Chicago Blackhawks
1970 Boston Bruins 40St. Louis Blues 
1969 Montreal Canadiens40St. Louis Blues 
1968 Montreal Canadiens40St. Louis Blues 
1967 Toronto Maple Leafs42Montreal Canadiens
1966 Montreal Canadiens42Detroit Red Wings
1965 Montreal Canadiens43Chicago Blackhawks
1964 Toronto Maple Leafs 43Detroit Red Wings
1963 Toronto Maple Leafs41Detroit Red Wings
1962 Toronto Maple Leafs42Chicago Blackhawks
1961 Chicago Blackhawks42Detroit Red Wings
1960 Montreal Canadiens40Toronto Maple Leafs
1959 Montreal Canadiens41Toronto Maple Leafs
1958 Montreal Canadiens42Boston Bruins 
1957 Montreal Canadiens41Boston Bruins 
1956 Montreal Canadiens41Detroit Red Wings
1955 Detroit Red Wings43Montreal Canadiens
1954 Detroit Red Wings43Montreal Canadiens
1953 Montreal Canadiens41Boston Bruins 
1952 Detroit Red Wings40Montreal Canadiens
1951 Toronto Maple Leafs41Montreal Canadiens
1950 Detroit Red Wings43New York Rangers
1949 Toronto Maple Leafs40Detroit Red Wings
1948 Toronto Maple Leafs40Detroit Red Wings
1947 Toronto Maple Leafs42Montreal Canadiens
1946 Montreal Canadiens41Boston Bruins 
1945 Toronto Maple Leafs43Detroit Red Wings
1944 Montreal Canadiens40Chicago Blackhawks
1943 Detroit Red Wings40Boston Bruins 
1942 Toronto Maple Leafs43Detroit Red Wings
1941 Boston Bruins 40Detroit Red Wings
1940 New York Rangers42Toronto Maple Leafs
1939 Boston Bruins 41Toronto Maple Leafs
1938 Chicago Blackhawks31Toronto Maple Leafs
1937 Detroit Red Wings32New York Rangers
1936 Detroit Red Wings31Toronto Maple Leafs
1935 Montreal Maroons30Toronto Maple Leafs
1934 Chicago Black Hawks31Detroit Red Wings
1933 New York Rangers 31Toronto Maple Leafs 
1932 Toronto Maple Leafs30New York Rangers
1931 Montreal Canadiens32Chicago Black Hawks 
1930 Montreal Canadiens20Boston Bruins
1929 Boston Bruins20New York Rangers
1928 New York Rangers32Montreal Maroons
1927 Ottawa Senators20Boston Bruins
1926 Montreal Maroons31Victoria Cougars
1925 Victoria Cougars31Montreal Canadiens
1924 Montreal Canadiens20Calgary Tigers
1923 Ottawa Senators20Edmonton Eskimos
1922 Toronto St. Pats31Vancouver Millionaires
1921 Ottawa Senators32Vancouver Millionaires
1920 Ottawa Senators32Seattle Metropolitans
1919 Cancelled--Due to Influenza
1918 Toronto Arenas32Vancouver Millionaires

Note: First year of the NHL was (1917-18) season. In it's history only two seasons have been lost 1918-19 (influenza) and 2004-05 (lockout). The Stanley Cup has been given out since 1893.

Last Updated: Jan 27, 2020

About Stanley Cup

The Stanley Cup was commissioned by Fredrick Arthur Stanley (1841-1908) Lord Stanley of Preston then Governor General of Canada in 1892. It was awarded to the top amateur hockey club. 

The NHL didn't get full control of the Stanley Cup until 1926. Before the NHL, the Cup winner could be challenged two or three times a year by teams who have won their own leagues: two game series with total goals being the decider was the basic formula. 



Stanley Cup Wins by Teams

# Teams
24 Montreal Canadiens 
11 Toronto Maple Leafs 
11 Detroit Red Wings 
6 Ottawa Senators *
6 Boston Bruins
6 Chicago Blackhawks
5 Edmonton Oilers
5 Montreal Victorias
5 Pittsburgh Penguins
4 New York Rangers
4 New York Islanders
4 Ottawa Silver Seven
4 Montreal Wanderers
4 Montreal A.A.A
3 New Jersey Devils
3 Winnipeg Victorias
2 Colorado Avalanche
2 Philadelphia Flyers
2 Quebec Bulldogs
2 Montreal Shamrocks
2 Montreal Maroons
1 Calgary Flames
1 Carolina Hurricanes
1 Dallas Stars
1 Tampa Bay Lightning
1 Victoria Cougars
1 Vancouver Millionaires
1 Toronto St. Pats
1 Toronto Blueshirts
1 Toronto Arenas
1 Seattle Metropolitans
1 St. Louis Blues
1 Kenora Thistles
1 Washington Capitals

Note: These Ottawa Senators are not the same team as the 1992 expansion Senators. Original team moved to St. Louis in 1934. *

Pre NHL Stanley Cup Winners

Year Teams
1917 Seattle Metropolitans
1916 Montreal Canadiens
1915 Vancouver Millionaires
1914 Toronto Blueshirts
1913 Quebec Bulldogs
1912 Quebec Bulldogs
1911 Ottawa Senators
1910 Montreal Wanderers
1909 Ottawa Senators
1908 Montreal Wanderers
1907 Montreal Wanderers
  Kenora Thistles
1906 Montreal Wanderers
  Ottawa Silver Seven
1905 Ottawa Silver Seven
1904 Ottawa Silver Seven
1903 Ottawa Silver Seven
  Montreal A.A.A.
1902 Montreal A.A.A.
  Winnipeg Victorias
1901 Winnipeg Victorias
1900 Montreal Shamrocks
1899 Montreal Shamrocks
  Montreal Victorias
1898 Montreal Victorias
1897 Montreal Victorias
1896 Montreal Victorias
  Winnipeg Victorias
1895 Montreal Victorias
1894 Montreal A.A.A.
1893 Montreal A.A.A.

Note: There are years when the Stanley Cup was won twice. 

Disclaimer: Cannot guarantee these stats are Complete.