Web Analytics

Stats Hockey


NHL Presidents

Gary Bettman  (1993 - Present)

Gary Bruce Bettman (born on June 2, 1952 in Queens, New York) is the commissioner of the National Hockey League (NHL), a post he has held since February 1, 1993. Previously, Bettman was a senior vice-president and general counsel to the National Basketball Association (NBA). Bettman is a graduate of Cornell University and New York University, where he earned a Law degree. Bettman studied Industrial and Labor Relations at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York, where he was a Brother of the Alpha Epsilon Pi Fraternity, and graduated in 1974. After receiving a Juris Doctor degree from New York University School of Law in 1977, Bettman joined the large New York City law firm of Proskauer Rose Goetz & Mendelsohn.

Gil Stein  (1992-93)

Gilbert Stein (b. 1928) is a former National Hockey League executive, serving as vice-president and legal counsel for nearly 15 years before becoming president in 1992. He served in that role for a year and left the league in disgrace after being found to have manipulated his own election to the Hockey Hall of Fame.

John A. Ziegler Jr  (1977-92)

John A. Ziegler, Jr (born February 9, 1934 in Grosse Pointe, Michigan) is a former President of the NHL. In 1977, Ziegler became the fourth president of the NHL, succeeding Clarence Campbell. Before becoming league President, Ziegler was involved in the ownership of the Detroit Red Wings and chairman of the NHL Board of Governors. Ziegler received the Lester Patrick Trophy in 1984 and was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1987. He was forced out of office in 1992 by the settlement which resolved the ten-day player strike.

Clarence Campbell  (1946-77)

Clarence Sutherland Campbell (July 9, 1905 - June 24, 1984) was president of the National Hockey League from 1946 to 1977. Born in Fleming, Saskatchewan, Campbell graduated from the University of Alberta with a degree in law and arts in 1924 and was a Rhodes Scholar at Oxford University, where he played for the Oxford University Ice Hockey Club. Regarded as the best NHL President.

Mervyn "Red" Dutton  (1943-46)

Mervyn "Red" Dutton (July 23, 1898–March 15, 1987) was a professional ice hockey player from 1921 to 1936, National Hockey League Managing Director and President from 1943 to 1946 and Stanley Cup Trustee from 1949 to 1987. He played for the Calgary Tigers, Montreal Maroons and the New York Americans. Born in Russell, Manitoba, he was inducted in the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1958.

Frank Calder  (1917-43)

Frank Calder (November 17, 1877 - February 4, 1943) was the first NHL president (1917-1943). He was instrumental in the suspension of the National Hockey Association and the founding of the NHL to freeze out E. J. Livingstone, the Toronto Blueshirts franchise holder. He presided over the expansion of the league into the U.S.A., and the fending off of rivals to the NHL's status as the premier ice hockey league. 

Source: Internet

Last Updated: June 10, 2016


Disclaimer: Cannot guarantee these stats are Complete.